National Campus Compact and External Awards

Newman Civic Fellows Award

2016_11_19_EMKInstitute_CampusCompact-224-1024x683The  Newman Civic Fellowship is a yearlong program that recognizes and supports community-committed students at Campus Compact member institutions.

The fellowship is a one-year experience that provides students with training and resources that nurture their assets and passions to help them develop strategies for social change. Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides in-person and virtual learning opportunities focused on the skills fellows need to serve as effective agents of change in addressing public problems and building equitable communities.

Presidents and chancellors are encouraged to nominate one current student on the basis of their motivation and potential to create long-term social change. 2020-2021 nominations are closed until  Learn more and nominate a student at

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Fellows:

  • Anderson University, Madison Rastetter
  • Indiana University Kokomo, Mackenzie Damon
  • Indiana University Northwest, Ethyl Ruehman
  • IUPUI, Marelyn Posadas-Cuaya
  • The University of Notre Dame, Evan McKenna

Congratulations to the 2019=2020 Indiana Newman Civic Fellows:

  • Anderson University, Daniel Gaines
  • Indiana University Northwest, Jennifer Webber
  • Indiana University South Bend, Rodger Pinto
  • IUPUI, Kevin Sanders
  • Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus, Cristina Villani
  • Saint Mary’s College, Guadalupe Gonzalez
  • University of Indianapolis, Natalie Benson

The Newman Civic Fellows Awards are made possible through the generous support of the KPMG Foundation.

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award


  • The online application form will open on March 17, 2020
  • The nomination deadline will be June 2, 2020
  • The 2020 recipient & finalists will be announced in Fall 2020

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) each year. Honorees (who must be affiliated with a Campus Compact member institution) are recognized for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good. The award — previously known as the Thomas Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning — is named in honor of Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University. 


Eva Zygmunt, Helen Gant Elmore Distinguished Professor of Elementary Education and co-director of the Alliance for Community-Engaged Teacher Preparation at Ball State University, as the recipient of the 2018 Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award.




Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty
The Ernest A. Lynton Award recognizes full-time, pre-tenure faculty who connect their teaching, research, and service to community engagement. Learn more >