Saturday, May 23, 2015

Congratulations to Purdue North Central Chancellor James B. Dworkin for his Sagamore of the Wabash Award!

Chan Dworkin Sagamore websiteIndiana State Sen. James Arnold presented the award to Chancellor Dworkin at an all-campus forum last month. Arnold told the group that had assembled to hear a campus update from the chancellor that this was the first time he had nominated anyone for the award that must be approved and signed by Indiana Gov. Mike Pence. Arnold said that he felt Dworkin was deserving of the award, citing his "dedication to the betterment of education and the betterment of the community."

 The Sagamore of the Wabash award is one of the highest distinctions bestowed by the Governor of Indiana. It is a personal tribute usually given to those who have rendered distinguished service to the state. The award was created during the term of Gov. Ralph Gates, who served from 1945 to 1949. Sagamore of the Wabash honorees have included astronauts, presidents, ambassadors, artists, musicians, politicians and citizens who have contributed to enriching Hoosier heritage.

"It is a great honor for me to receive this prestigious award," Dworkin said. "I am very grateful to Governor Pence, State Senator Jim Arnold and all those individuals who were involved in making this possible."

PNC Press Release

Last month May 2015 Next month
week 18 1 2
week 19 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
week 20 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
week 21 17 18 19 20 21 22 23
week 22 24 25 26 27 28 29 30
week 23 31


Indiana Campus Compact is grateful to Lilly Endowment Inc. for significant funding in support of programs, training,and resources for our member campuses that allow them to deepen their commitment to community engagement and service-learning.